Wednesday, March 3, 2010

F1 Key Issues

Users running Internet Explorer on Windows 2000 or Windows XP should not press the F1 key if prompted by a website or the content of an email. Doing so may put your system at risk.

More details available here.

Amazon Phishing Mails

Below is an example of some phony Amazon order confirmation emails that some users are seeing.

Note that although the message contains text that very closely approximates an authentic message, there are no images nor are there the customary disclosures at the bottom of the message.

The "Order Confirmation" link that is blocked by this mail client reveals the true destination.

The safest way to check on an Amazon order would be to visit their website. Amazon has a good help section dedicated to identifying phishing emails.


Thursday, February 25, 2010

Sun Outages - First 2010 Instance

Twice per year many satellite-based services are affected by interference from the sun.

Sun outages affect all satellite-based communications and occur when the sun is located directly behind the satellite and in-line with the antenna on the ground. At that point, the noise energy from the sun is often greater than the communication signal level and may result in loss of signal.

Sun outages will affect our cable television service (as we receive our cable television programming from satellites), along with satellite-based services such as WildBlue and DIRECTV.

Additional details on the specific product impacts are:

Adams Cable Television

· Beginning on Sunday, February 28, and running through Tuesday, March 9 we will experience cable television interruptions due to the sun being directly in line with the satellite and our dishes.

· At first, there will be digital blocking for a few seconds, and by Thursday, March 4, the total outages will be up to two minutes. As we have satellites pointing 7 different directions, the interruptions will begin around 11:00 a.m. each morning and end around 4:00 p.m. in the afternoon.


DIRECTV

· Sun outage interference with DIRECTV will start on Sunday, February 28 and run through Monday, March 8, with outages occurring from 12:55 p.m. to 1:35 p.m.

· As the customer’s satellite dish is smaller, we can anticipate a higher chance of interference.

WildBlue

· Sun outage interference with WildBlue will start on Sunday, February 28 and run through Tuesday, March 9, with outages occurring from 12:45 p.m. to 1:30 p.m.

· Outages will depend on which WildBlue satellite the customer is receiving their service from.

Tuesday, February 23, 2010

No Settings File Needed

Once again, those folks that are trying to compromise your system and/or gain access to your personal information such as logins and passwords are sending mails that purport to be from Adams.

Please ignore and delete any messages similar to this one:

-----Original Message-----
From: adams.net Team [mailto:user@adams.net]
Sent: Tuesday, February 23, 2010 5:02 AM
To: user@adams.net
Subject: A new settings file for the user@adams.net has just be released

Dear use of the adams.net mailing service!

We are informing you that because of the security upgrade of the mailing service your mailbox user@adams.net settings were changed. In order to apply the new set of settings open this file:

http://irai.nerim.net/settings.exe

Best regards, adams.net Technical Support.

Obviously Adams would not have you go to "nerim.net" for anything regarding your account, much less have you install a program from there.

Any system changes that would affect how you access your email will be announced here and at our website, www.adams.net under the System Status link.

Friday, February 12, 2010

New Webmail Phishing

Here is another example of a new message circulating today.

Should you receive it simply delete it. Adams will never ask you for such information via email.


We are from the office of (WEBMAIL),currently upgrading our data base and center of e-mail accounts i.e homepage view. We will delete email accounts that are no longer age active to create more space for new accounts users. we have also investigated a system wide security audit to improve and enhance our current security.

To continue using our services, you are required to update and re- comfirmed your account data as our WEBMAIL suscriber. To complete your new account confirmation, you must reply to this email immediately and enter your account details asrequested below.


User Name:....
E-mail Username....
Password:....
confirm password:...
Date of birth :
Future Password:.....

Otherwise, your account will immediately deactivated from our database and the service will not be interrupted as important messages may lost, due to you refuced re-comfirmed your account details for us.

We apologize for any inconvenience this will cause you during this period, but the confidence that we are here to serve you better and providing more technology which revolves around email and internet.

It is also pertinent, you understand that our primary concern is for our clients, and for the safety of your files and data.Confirmation Code: Webmail -/93-1A388-480 Technical Support Team

Thursday, January 21, 2010

AIM Phishing

Some users are seeing emails that claim that their AOL Instant Messenger account is inactive and needs to be reset. The email contains a link for doing so.

Here's an example.



Dear AIM user,

Your AIM account is flagged as inactive. Within the following 72 hours it’ll be deleted from the system.

If you plan to use this account in the future, you have to download and launch the latest update for the AIM. This update is critical.

In order to install the update use the following link. This link is generated exclusively for your account and is available within a certain period of time. As soon as this link is not available anymore you will get another letter.

Thank you,

AIM Service Team

This e-mail has been sent from an e-mail address that is not monitored. Please do not reply to this message. We are unable to respond to any replies.




As usual these type of messages should be considered suspect.

In the case of this email the link went to a suspicious site in Poland and the Google Chrome browser noted the issue.










Thursday, December 17, 2009

Beware the Christmas Greeting Card

It's that time of year -- and with the accelerating move from paper-based to digital formats, holiday greetings are being increasingly exchanged via email.

Once again we are reminded that the "greeting card" is a very popular means for inflicting malware upon unsuspecting users.

This posting at SophosLabs covers some recent variants and has links to other posts concerning holiday malware.

And this advice from SANS is sound:
So if you get a greeting card, even if it's from someone you know, be sure that the link you click is taking you where you expect to go. Check that the link is to a reputable greeting card site, and that it doesn't have "extra" characters at the end, that would indicate you are going someplace else entirely. Even better, "don't click that link!" - copy and paste it into your browser rather than clicking it directly, that way you have that much more assurance that you know where you are browsing to.
Best wishes for safe holiday browsing!